Board of Management

The Board of Management for Clonturk Community College has a clear remit to manage our school on behalf of the CDETB and our Trustee Partner Educate Together, in accordance with legislation; Department of Education and Skills (DES) circulars, guidelines and procedures; and any policies or strategies that the CDETB may establish regarding the operation of its schools.

The primary role of our Board of Management is one of governance. Governance is about providing direction and oversight for a school while ensuring that the rights of all members of the school community are upheld and that the school is accountable for its work.


The functions of our Board may, in the main, be categorised under four different headings:

  • Supporting and upholding the ethos of our school
  • Policy setting and strategic planning
  • Monitoring the implementation of policy, strategy and plans
  • Supporting the principal and her staff


As part of the Board’s efforts to keep the school community in touch with the work that it does at meetings, the Board has decided to publish an agreed report on each of the meetings held as soon as possible after each meeting. The report maintains the confidential nature of many of the agenda items by not naming individuals or giving specifics on such matters. The Board hopes that these reports will assist the school community in understanding its role and function.



Current Board of Management Members


Anne Phelan (Chairperson)     Educate Together Nominee


Mark Grehan                           Educate Together Nominee

John McKenna                        Educate Together Nominee


Cllr. Áine Clancy                    CDETB Nominee

Cllr. Andrew Keegan              CDETB Nominee

Stephen McCarthy                  CDETB Nominee


Gary Fitzgerald                         Staff Nominee

Ella Rogers-Browne                 Staff Nominee


Dr Bryan MacDonald             Parent Nominee

Helen Watters                         Parent Nominee


Susan Campbell (Principal)     Secretary to the Board


Agreed Reports:

Agreed Report 2nd October 2017

Agreed Report 4th April

Agreed Report 28th February

Agreed Report 17th January 2017